Digital Events

Student Presentation: Family Narratives & Working With Archives

In this event, graduating MA Photojournalism and Documentary Photography students will present their projects, which are the result of working with family archives and explore themes of family narrative, identity and grief. The presentations will be followed by a Q&A led by artist Chiara Luxardo. This event is taking place as part of the London College of Communication Postgraduate Showcase, celebrating some of the most inspiring new work across design, media and screen.

Sun, 31 January 2021
4pm – 5:30pm CET
3pm – 4:30pm GMT
Add to calendar

Artist Presentation: Place, Personal Narratives & Photographic Storytelling

In this event, accomplished professionals get together with graduating MA Photojournalism and Documentary Photography students to talk about their own practice with a particular focus on place, our relationship to it and personal narratives within the broader context of contemporary photographic practice. The discussion will be followed by Q&A with the audience. This event is taking place as part of the London College of Communication Postgraduate Showcase, celebrating some of the most inspiring new work across design, media and screen.

Mon, 1 February 2021
8pm – 9:30pm CET
7pm – 8:30pm GMT
Add to calendar

Panel Discussion: Fragmented Bodies Panel & PlayDate Performance

Photographers are ever more aware of the representative responsibilities that come with their craft. However, the question of who is actually doing the representing remains just as important as who is being represented. In this discussion photographers Leah Band, Claire Eggers, and Ana Blumenkron, in conversation with Max Houghton. On approaching the subjects of individual self-image, the pressure women receive to fulfill their gender stereotype and the way in which landscape has been taking over by the male gaze. The photographers will discuss how their practice is influenced by feminism, body image, and a patriarchal world from the feminine perspective and the ways in which women do resist the patriarchy in all its forms. To end with Blumenkron doing a reading of her photoplay ‘playdate’, a romantic feminist comedy.

Tue, 2 February 2021
7pm – 8:30pm CET
6pm – 7:30pm GMT
Add to calendar